menu
28 June 2016

Corporate officers have a duty of loyalty with respect to sales of shares

In a decision dated April 12, 2016[1], the Commercial Chamber of the Cour de Cassation (French Supreme Court) clarified the scope of a well-established case-law according to which corporate officers/members of company boards, who are bound by a duty of loyalty towards their shareholders, must disclose to the shareholders wishing to sell them their shares […]

Read more
24 February 2016

The Joint venture: A tool for companies to speed up their international expansion

Faced with a sluggish domestic economy and mature markets, French companies tend to expand internationally and seek new opportunities to secure their business. The joint venture, irrespective of whether it is imposed by the ever-intensifying global competition or under local laws that require the presence of a local partner, constitutes a development tool that is […]

Read more
23 December 2015

Green bonds: A new tool for funding the energy transition?

“The longest journey always starts with one step” used to say François de la Rochefoucauld. On December 12, 2015, the COP21, also known as the 2015 Paris Climate Conference, ended with an historical agreement that provides fresh impetus in the fight against global warming. For the business community, this agreement is primarily a signal for […]

Read more
29 October 2015

Conquering the UAE through a successful market entry strategy

Hydrocarbons, new technologies, building and civil engineering works, but also luxury tourism, renewable energies or agribusiness, the United Arab Emirates (the “UAE”) offers tremendous business opportunities for companies and such opportunities are enhanced as a result of the currently pursued policy of economic diversification[1]. In the UAE, generated profits are net of taxes and natural […]

Read more
28 September 2015

The competitiveness of the French private equity and capital investment industry is reinforced with the creation of the Société de Libre Partenariat

In the current context of increasingly fierce competition between European private equity structures following the adoption of Directive 2011/61/EU, referred to as the “AIFM Directive” [1], aimed at creating an harmonized framework for alternative investment funds (“AIF”) in Europe while strengthening the protection of investors and savers, the French Government wanted to show that it […]

Read more
27 March 2015

Interference and appearance in corporate groups

“Appearances can be true” according to French poet Eugene Guillevic. In a decision dated February 3, 2015, the Cour de Cassation (French Supreme Court) endorsed this oxymoron by ruling that a parent company that interferes in the commercial relationship of one of its subsidiaries, thereby suggesting that it has substituted itself for the latter in […]

Read more

All posts ared displayed

No more page

Load more

menu
28 juin 2016

L’obligation de loyauté du dirigeant en matière de cession d’actions

Par un arrêt en date du 12 avril 2016[1], la chambre commerciale de la Cour de cassation précise la portée d’une jurisprudence désormais bien établie selon laquelle le dirigeant social, tenu d’un devoir de loyauté à l’égard des associés, doit communiquer aux actionnaires lui cédant leurs titres toutes les informations de nature à influer sur […]

Lire la suite
24 février 2016

Accélérer son développement international grâce à la joint-venture

Face à une croissance nationale en berne et des marchés matures, les entreprises françaises s’internationalisent et partent à la conquête de nouvelles opportunités pour pérenniser leur activité. Imposée soit par la concurrence qui s’intensifie à l’échelle internationale, soit par les réglementations locales qui exigent la présence d’un partenaire local, la joint-venture est un outil de […]

Lire la suite
23 décembre 2015

Financer la transition énergétique grâce aux obligations vertes ?

« Le plus grand voyage commence toujours par le premier pas » disait François de la Rochefoucauld. La COP 21 s’est refermée à Paris ce samedi 12 décembre 2015 sur un accord historique qui relance la lutte contre le réchauffement climatique. Pour les milieux d’affaires, ce texte constitue surtout un signal en faveur de la poursuite des […]

Lire la suite
29 octobre 2015

A la conquête des Emirats Arabes Unis : maîtriser son implantation

Les hydrocarbures, les nouvelles technologies, le BTP, mais aussi le tourisme de luxe, les énergies renouvelables ou l’agro-alimentaire, les Emirats Arabes Unis représentent des opportunités de développement considérables pour les investisseurs étrangers, renforcées par leur politique de diversification économique[1]. Les profits dégagés sont nets, les personnes physiques et morales ne sont pas soumises respectivement à […]

Lire la suite
28 septembre 2015

Renforcement de la compétitivité du capital investissement à la française avec la société de libre partenariat

Dans un contexte concurrentiel plus âpre entre les différentes structures de capital-investissement européennes suite à la directive européenne 2011/61/UE dite directive « AIFM »[1]visant à créer un cadre harmonisé pour les gestionnaires de fonds d’investissement alternatifs (« FIA ») en Europe tout en renforçant la protection des investisseurs et des épargnants, le gouvernement a souhaité afficher sa […]

Lire la suite
27 mars 2015

Immixtion et apparences dans les groupes de sociétés

« Les apparences peuvent êtres vraies » selon le poète français Eugène Guillevic. Dans un arrêt du 3 février 2015, la Cour de cassation a décidé de reprendre à son compte cet oxymore en décidant qu’une société mère qui s’immisce dans une relation commerciale d’une de ses filiales, laissant croire qu’elle se substitue à elle dans l’exécution […]

Lire la suite

Tous les articles sont affichés

Dernière page

Charger plus