menu

All publications by Charlotte Desfontaines

Charlotte Desfontaines

Member of the Lyon Bar

29 September 2020

Pre-trial detention: The health crisis does not in itself justify the release from prison

The conditions of detention, already well deteriorated due to the overcrowding that has been a constant feature of places of deprivation of liberty for several years, are necessarily and unfortunately adversely affected by the health situation created by the COVID-19 pandemic. How to implement social distancing, and more broadly, so-called “barrier gestures” (i.e. preventative measures that each individual should take to protect himself/herself and others against COVID-19) in places where the daily life is marked by the proximity between fellow inmates? It is impossible to do so.

Consequently, many requests for release from pretrial detention have been filed with the Liberty and Custody Judge. However, these requests for release have been dismissed. Following the upholding of a dismissal order, one inmate appealed to the Cour de Cassation (French Supreme Court). On August 19, 2020, the Criminal Chamber of the Cour de Cassation issued a ruling that confirmed the dismissal of the request for release.

Read more
6 August 2020

Employees’ freedom of religion and ban on wearing a beard

Does an employer who dismisses for serious misconduct an employee working as security consultant for a company providing security and defense services to governments, international non-governmental organizations or private companies, accusing him of wearing a beard that is “trimmed in a way that is intentionally meaningful in both religious and political terms”, infringe said employee’s freedom of religion?

The Cour de Cassation (French Supreme Court) was asked to address this issue and has expanded existing case-law in this area, by issuing on July 8, 2020 a ruling on the fundamental rights and freedoms of employees in the workplace. The Labor Chamber of the Cour de Cassation specifically considered that dismissal for serious misconduct based on such a ground was discriminatory.

Read more
19 June 2020

Covid-19 – Criminal liability of employers: A real mitigation or a simple reminder of the principle of individualization of penalties?

On May 11, 2020, the state of health emergency was extended through the adoption of Law No. 2020-546 which supplemented existing provisions. One of the purposes of this legislation is to mitigate the employer’s liability in the event of infection or exposure to infection by the Covid-19.

Indeed, many companies had to continue operating since the outbreak of the crisis, thereby exposing employees to the risk of infection. In the event of infection of one of them by the virus, the employer, i.e. both the natural person who is at the head of the company and the company itself as legal entity, may be held liable.

Read more
5 May 2020

Covid-19 and Amazon: Employers must involve staff representatives in the assessment of the risks and the preparation of the resulting health related measures

On April 24, 2020, the Versailles Court of Appeals handed down an insightful decision concerning the implementation of employee protection measures by employers in the current health context and lockdown imposed by the Government on March 16.

Ruling on an appeal lodged by the American giant Amazon against the order issued by the Nanterre Judicial Court on April 14, 2020, the Versailles Court of Appeals upheld the order in that it provided for a mandatory obligation to implement a comprehensive national health and safety prevention plan for employees, with prior consultation with staff representatives. This decision is in line with the need to reconcile the necessity to maintain a business activity with the preservation of employees’ health.

Read more
22 April 2020

DataJust: Towards a predictive Justice?

Decree No.2020-356 of March 27, 2020 provides for the implementation of an algorithm called DataJust for a period of two years. This algorithm aims in particular at developing an indicative baseline of compensation for personal injurie.

This baseline system will be made available not only to judges, but also to lawyers, insurers and, above all, victims, in order to assess the amount of compensation to which the latter may be entitled, with the aim of encouraging out-of-court settlements.

Read more
9 April 2020

Covid-19: French rules of criminal procedure have been adapted

In order to ensure the continued operation of French criminal courts necessary to maintain public order, the Government adopted on March 25, 2020 Ordinance 2020-303 in furtherance of the Emergency Law of March 23, 2020 . The Ordinance adapts the rules applicable to courts ruling on criminal matters.

These derogations from the procedural rules usually applicable in criminal matters were taken primarily for obvious health reasons, in order to reduce physical contacts, but also to ensure the continued operation of the French public Justice System.

Read more

All posts ared displayed

No more page

Next page

Load more

menu

Toutes les publications de Charlotte Desfontaines

Charlotte Desfontaines

Avocat au Barreau de Lyon

29 septembre 2020

Détention provisoire : la crise sanitaire ne justifie pas à elle seule la mise en liberté

Les conditions de détention, déjà bien détériorées en raison de la surpopulation qui définit depuis plusieurs années les lieux de privation de liberté, pâtissent nécessairement et malheureusement du contexte sanitaire lié à l’épidémie mondiale du Covid-19. Comment concilier distanciation sociale, et plus largement gestes barrières, dans des lieux où le quotidien est rythmé par la proximité entre codétenus ? C’est impossible.

Partant, de nombreuses demandes de mise en liberté émanant de personnes en détention provisoire ont été soumises au Juge des libertés et de la détention. Pour autant, ces demandes de mise en liberté ont été rejetées. Suite à une confirmation d’ordonnance de rejet, un détenu a formé un pourvoi en cassation. La Chambre criminelle de la Haute Juridiction a rendu un arrêt le 19 août dernier, confirmant ce rejet.

Lire la suite
6 août 2020

Liberté religieuse du salarié et interdiction du port de la barbe

L’employeur qui licencie pour faute grave un consultant sûreté d’une société assurant des prestations de sécurité et de défense pour des gouvernements, organisations internationales non gouvernementales ou entreprises privées, lui reprochant le port d’une barbe « taillée d’une manière volontairement signifiante aux doubles plans religieux et politique », porte-t-il atteinte à la liberté religieuse du salarié ?

La Cour de cassation a dû se pencher sur cette question et a étoffé la jurisprudence en la matière, en rendant un arrêt le 8 juillet 2020 relatif aux libertés et droits fondamentaux du salarié dans l’entreprise. La chambre sociale a ainsi considéré que le licenciement pour faute grave se fondant sur un tel motif était discriminatoire.

Lire la suite
19 juin 2020

Coronavirus Covid-19 – Responsabilité pénale des employeurs : véritable atténuation ou simple rappel du principe d’individualisation des peines ?

Le 11 mai 2020, l’état d’urgence sanitaire a été prorogé par l’adoption de la loi n°2020-546, complétant ainsi les dispositions existantes. Cette loi vise notamment à atténuer la responsabilité de l’employeur en cas de contamination ou d’exposition à la contamination du Covid-19.

En effet, nombreuses sont les entreprises qui ont dû continuer à fonctionner depuis le début de la crise, exposant les salariés à un risque de contamination. En cas de contraction par l’un deux du virus, l’employeur pourrait voir sa responsabilité, tant celle du dirigeant personne physique que celle de la personne morale, être recherchée.

Lire la suite
5 mai 2020

Covid-19 et AMAZON : De la nécessité d’associer les représentants du personnel à l’évaluation des risques et à l’élaboration des mesures sanitaires

Le 24 avril 2020, la Cour d’appel de VERSAILLES a rendu un arrêt éclairant concernant la mise en œuvre des mesures de protection des salariés par l’employeur dans le contexte sanitaire actuel et de confinement décrété par le gouvernement le 16 mars dernier.

Se prononçant sur appel interjeté par le géant américain AMAZON à l’encontre de l’ordonnance rendue par le Tribunal judiciaire de NANTERRE le 14 avril 2020, la Cour d’appel de VERSAILLES a confirmé ladite ordonnance en ce qu’elle prévoyait une obligation impérative de mettre en place un plan complet et national de prévention de la sécurité et de la santé des salariés avec consultation préalable des représentants du personnel. Cet arrêt s’inscrit comme la conciliation entre nécessité de maintenir une activité économique et préservation de la santé des salariés.

Lire la suite
22 avril 2020

« DataJust » : vers une justice prédictive ?

Le décret du 27 mars 2020 prévoit la mise en place d’un algorithme appelé DataJust, pour une durée de deux ans. Cet algorithme vise notamment à élaborer un référentiel indicatif d’indemnisation des préjudices corporels.

Partant, ce référentiel sera non seulement mis à la disposition des magistrats, mais aussi des avocats, des assureurs et surtout des victimes, afin d’évaluer le montant de l’indemnisation à laquelle elles peuvent prétendre, dans le but de favoriser les règlements à l’amiable.

Lire la suite
9 avril 2020

Coronavirus Covid-19 : Ordonnance du 25 mars 2020 portant adaptation de la procédure pénale

Afin d’assurer la continuité de l’activité des juridictions pénales nécessaire au maintien de l’ordre public, le gouvernement a pris l’Ordonnance du 25 mars 2020 dans le cadre de la loi d’urgence, cette ordonnance adaptant les règles de procédure pénale, adaptation nécessaire à la crise sanitaire actuellement traversée par la France.

Ces dérogations aux règles habituellement applicables en procédure pénale ont été prises avant tout pour des raisons sanitaires évidentes, afin de réduire les contacts physiques, mais aussi afin d’assurer la continuité du service public de la Justice.

Lire la suite

Tous les articles sont affichés

Dernière page

Page suivante

Charger plus