menu
29 June 2021

The judicial crisis recovery management procedure: A new temporary tool for businesses in financial distress because of the health crisis

Seeking to ensure the survival of companies that could become insolvent in the coming months due to the phasing-out of the support measures that have been put in place, the French legislator has adopted a Law introducing a new procedure, i.e., the judicial crisis recovery management procedure.

This temporary procedure is of particular interest to debtors who may be experiencing short-term difficulties caused by the COVID-19 health crisis and who wish to benefit from a simple and rapid mechanism for spreading out their current liabilities over a long period of time.

Read more
31 May 2021

Principle of equality and arbitrators’ duty to disclose: New developments by the International Commercial Chamber of the Paris Court of Appeals

2021 is already shaping up to be a year of new developments on such exciting topics as the principle of equality of the parties in the constitution of the arbitral tribunal and the arbitrators’ duty to disclose.

Indeed, in five rulings handed down between the end of December 2020 and mid-February 2021, the Paris Court of Appeals has ruled on the arbitrator’s duty to disclosure, either by reiterating conventional solutions or by adopting, in the case of the International Commercial Chamber of the Paris Court of Appeals, a more innovative approach.

Read more
29 April 2021

Infographic on the key figures of the audit activities of the French Anticorruption Agency published in its 2020 annual report

The French Anticorruption Agency (Agence Française Anticorruption, hereinafter “AFA”) published its 2020 annual report in March 2021.

This provides the opportunity to review the key figures of its audit activities in one infographic, four years after its creation by the Law of December 9, 2016 on transparency, fight against corruption and modernization of economic life, known as the “Sapin II” Law.

While these figures help us identify a trend concerning the types of audits carried out and the entities concerned, the AFA could in the future extend these audits by deciding to subject more companies to the compliance scheme, as it seems to envisage in its latest guidelines.

Read more
16 April 2021

CSR: The subcontractor’s failure to comply with the client’s code of ethics justifies the immediate termination of the business relationships with the supplier

Almost ten years after the Rana Plaza scandal and while many voices are being raised about human rights violations in the textile industry, the Paris Court of Appeals has recently issued a particularly interesting ruling combining corporate social responsibility and sudden termination of established business relationships.

Specifically, on March 24, 2021, it held that if a supplier fails to ensure that its subcontractors comply with its client’s code of ethics, the immediate termination of the business relationships cannot be considered as sudden within the meaning of Article L. 442-6 I §5 of the French Commercial Code.

Read more
23 March 2021

Special jurisdiction under Article 35 of the Brussels I recast Regulation vs. preparatory inquiries under Article 145 of the French Code of Civil Procedure

Pursuant to Article 35 of the Brussels I recast Regulation, the local judge may order provisional or protective measures, even though another judge has been given – or has accepted – jurisdiction to rule on the merits of the case, in particular under the terms of a jurisdiction clause.

In a decision handed down on January 27, 2021, the Court de Cassation (French Supreme Court) ruled on the French judge’s power to order preparatory inquiries in futurum (literally for the future) and aligned its position with the autonomous notion of “provisional, including protective, measures” provided for by European Law.

Read more

All posts ared displayed

No more page

Next page

Load more

menu
29 juin 2021

La procédure judiciaire de traitement de sortie de crise : un nouvel outil temporaire pour régler les difficultés des entreprises causées par la crise sanitaire

Cherchant à préserver la pérennité des entreprises qui pourraient être exposées à des défaillances dans les prochains mois en raison de la fin progressive des mesures de soutien mises en place, le législateur a adopté une loi instaurant la procédure judiciaire de traitement de sortie de crise.

Cette procédure temporaire présente un intérêt certain pour les débiteurs qui rencontreraient des difficultés conjoncturelles liées à la crise sanitaire de la Covid-19 et qui souhaiteraient bénéficier d’un étalement simple et rapide de leur passif exigible sur une durée longue.

Lire la suite
31 mai 2021

Principe d’égalité et obligation de révélation de l’arbitre : Nouveaux développements de la CCIP-CA

2021 s’annonce déjà comme une année propice à de nouveaux développements sur des sujets aussi passionnants que le principe d’égalité des parties dans la constitution du Tribunal arbitral et l’obligation de révélation applicable aux arbitres.

En effet, aux termes de cinq arrêts rendus entre la fin du mois de décembre 2020 et la mi-février 2021, la Cour d’appel de Paris s’est prononcée sur l’obligation de révélation de l’arbitre en réitérant des solutions classiques ou en adoptant, s’agissant de la chambre commerciale internationale de la Cour d’appel de Paris (CCIP-CA), une solution plus novatrice.

Lire la suite
29 avril 2021

Infographie sur les chiffres clés des activités de contrôle de l’AFA publiés dans son rapport annuel d’activité 2020

L’Agence Française Anticorruption a publié en mars dernier son rapport annuel d’activité 2020.

L’occasion de revenir sur les chiffres clés de ses activités de contrôle en infographie, quatre années après sa création par la loi du 9 décembre 2016 sur la transparence, la lutte contre la corruption et la modernisation de la vie économique, dite Sapin 2.

Si ces chiffres permettent d’établir une tendance concernant les types de contrôles réalisés et les entités concernées, à l’avenir l’AFA pourrait étendre ces contrôles, en décidant d’assujettir davantage d’entreprises au dispositif de conformité comme elle semble l’envisager dans ses dernières recommandations.

Lire la suite
16 avril 2021

Responsabilité sociétale des entreprises : La violation par le sous-traitant du code éthique du client justifie la rupture sans préavis des relations commerciales avec le fournisseur

Presque dix ans après le scandale du Rana Plaza et alors que de nombreuses voix s’élèvent au sujet de violations des droits de l’Homme dans l’industrie textile, la Cour d’appel de Paris vient de se prononcer dans un arrêt particulièrement intéressant mêlant responsabilité sociétale des entreprises et rupture brutale des relations commerciales établies.

Le 24 mars dernier, elle a ainsi retenu qu’à défaut pour le fournisseur de s’assurer du respect par ses sous-traitants du code éthique de son client, la rupture immédiate des relations commerciales ne pouvait pas être brutale au sens de l’article L. 442-6 I 5° du Code de commerce.

Lire la suite
23 mars 2021

La compétence spéciale de l’article 35 du Règlement Bruxelles I bis et le sort réservé aux mesures d’instruction de l’article 145 du Code de procédure civile

Conformément à l’article 35 du Règlement Bruxelles I bis, le juge local peut ordonner des mesures provisoires ou conservatoires, alors même qu’un autre juge s’est déclaré compétent pour statuer sur le fond, notamment en cas de clause attributive de juridiction.

Dans un arrêt rendu le 27 janvier 2021, la Cour de cassation revient sur la compétence du juge français pour ordonner des mesures d’instructions in futurum et se conforme à la notion autonome de mesures provisoires ou conservatoires du Droit européen.

Lire la suite

Tous les articles sont affichés

Dernière page

Page suivante

Charger plus