menu

All publications by Jean-Luc Soulier

Jean-Luc Soulier

Member of the Paris and Brussels Bars

26 April 2022

Editorial – Compliance: A civilization issue

Over the years, risk management has become a major issue for companies. For decades, they have been faced with an increased criminalization of their activities and an explosion of new and increasingly complex regulations in a wide variety of fields such as the protection of personal data and respect for the environment.

This regulatory hell is paved with good intentions. The rule of law must guarantee a free competition environment where the dices are not loaded and where corruption has no place.

Read more
30 March 2022

Fighting foreign bribery: The OECD Working Group’s Phase 4 report on France distributes good and bad marks

The OECD Working Group on the Implementation of the OECD Convention on Combating Bribery of Foreign Public Officials in International Business Transactions adopted the France Phase 4 report on December 9, 2021.

This is an opportunity to recall the origin of this Convention before briefly presenting the good and bad marks distributed by the monitoring team in charge of assessing France’s progress in the fight against foreign bribery and underlining its key role in the defense of the values of the civilized world.

Read more
26 May 2020

Covid-19 – Force majeure or hardship: You do not have to choose

Can a party to a commercial contract escape its obligations because of the economic disruption caused by the Covid-19 pandemic?

The answer to this question, which is of the utmost interest to companies of all sizes, is to be found in the new French contract law introduced by Ordinance of February 10, 2016.

Read more
30 December 2019

Wish us a happy New Year!

The in-depth reform of the French civil procedure that will enter into force on January 1, 2020 brings about significant amendments to the procedural rules applicable before the various courts and will keep us lawyers very busy for a while! And this is all the more true as we will have to acclimatize in a few days to a completely new environment!

Read more
27 February 2019

France is preparing for a no-deal Brexit. Isn’t it too late already?

In a previous article entitled “Brexit: Troubled negotiations failed. What next?”, I mentioned the forthcoming adoption of several Ordinances in furtherance of the so-called Enabling Law of January 19, 2019 that authorized the French Government “to take measures by way of Ordinances to prepare for the United Kingdom’s withdrawal from the European Union”. Since then, […]

Read more

All posts ared displayed

No more page

Next page

Load more

menu

Toutes les publications de Jean-Luc Soulier

Jean-Luc Soulier

Avocat aux Barreaux de Paris et de Bruxelles

26 avril 2022

Editorial – La compliance : un enjeu de civilisation

Au fil des années, la gestion du risque est devenue un enjeu majeur pour les entreprises. Elles font face depuis des décennies à une pénalisation accrue de leurs activités et à une explosion de nouvelles réglementations de plus en plus complexes dans les domaines les plus divers, comme la protection des données ou le respect de l’environnement.

Cet enfer réglementaire est pavé de bonnes intentions. L’état de droit doit garantir une concurrence libre où les dés ne sont pas pipés et où la corruption n’a pas sa place.

Lire la suite
30 mars 2022

Lutte contre la corruption transnationale : le rapport de Phase 4 sur la France du Groupe de travail de l’OCDE délivre bons et mauvais points

Le Groupe de travail sur la mise en œuvre de la Convention de l’OCDE sur la lutte contre la corruption d’agents publics étrangers dans les transactions commerciales internationales a adopté le rapport de Phase 4 sur la France le 9 décembre 2021.

L’occasion de rappeler l’origine de cette Convention avant de présenter succinctement les bons et les mauvais points distribués par l’équipe de suivi chargée d’évaluer les progrès de la France dans la répression de la corruption transnationale, et de souligner son rôle majeur dans la défense des valeurs du monde civilisé.

Lire la suite
26 mai 2020

Coronavirus Covid-19: Force majeure ou imprévision il ne faut pas choisir

Une partie à un contrat commercial peut-elle échapper à ses obligations en raison des bouleversements économiques provoqués par la pandémie Covid-19 ?

La réponse à cette question, qui intéresse les entreprises de toutes tailles, doit être recherchée dans le nouveau droit des contrats instauré par l’ordonnance du 10 février 2016.

Lire la suite
30 décembre 2019

Souhaitez-nous une Bonne Année !

La réforme de la procédure civile qui entrera en vigueur le 1er janvier 2020 engendre d’importants bouleversements dans les règles de procédures applicables devant les différentes juridictions, lesquels vont beaucoup occuper les avocats que nous sommes ! Et ce d’autant que nous devrons nous acclimater en quelques jours à un tout nouvel environnement !

Lire la suite
27 février 2019

La France se prépare à un Brexit sans accord. N’est-il pas déjà trop tard ?

Dans un précédent article intitulé « Brexit : L’échec d’une négociation semée d’embûches. What next?», je faisais état de l’adoption prochaine de plusieurs ordonnances en application de la loi du 19 janvier 2019 habilitant le Gouvernement français « à prendre par ordonnances les mesures de préparation au retrait du Royaume-Uni de l’Union européenne ». Depuis, six ordonnances ont été […]

Lire la suite

Tous les articles sont affichés

Dernière page

Page suivante

Charger plus